On Monday, October 29, a new law in Ohio will now help law enforcement to crack down on distracted driving. House Bill 95 permits police to cite drivers for moving violations and increase their fine if the police believe the driver was distracted when they committed the moving violation.

Previously, if you were cited for speeding, improper lane changes, running a red light, the police would fine you solely on that violation, unless they could that the driver was texting while driving. Under the new law, traffic fines will increase if the police believe you were distracted when the moving violation occurred.

For example, if you do not stop at a stop sign and the officer who pulls you over believes it was because you’re distracted, you’re going to be fined $100 on top of the fine for missing the stop sign.

“Let’s be honest, half the time, or most of the time when someone’s phone goes off, or whatever the case is, they automatically grab it and they don’t even realize, it’s just inherent. Oh, there it is, okay. If you can eliminate that in the car so you’re not doing that, it becomes automatically safer for not only you, but everyone else on the road as well,” said Lt. Shaun J. Robinson, Post Commander of the Ohio State Highway Patrol.

The Ohio legislature has made a provision to avoid the additional fine. If the added fine is $100 or less, those charged have the option of taking a distracted driving course put together by the Ohio Department of Public Safety. The course lasts an hour and discusses several aspects regarding cell phone distractions including how to combat distracted driving through technology.

If the cited driver submits written evidence of completion of the distracted driver course, the additional fine will be waived. The driver is still responsible for the fine of the moving violation.

The course is now available and can be found on the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicle’s Driver Training website(  Additional information on the new law can be found on these news sources: